Paul Geyer, Chairman

Paul Geyer graduated with a B.A.Sc. in electrical engineering from the University of British Columbia in 1988. In 1991, he founded Mitroflow International Inc., a medical device company that developed and commercialized bovine tissue heart valves. As the company’s president and CEO, Mr. Geyer grew Mitroflow from a start-up of nine employees and an investment of $800,000 in 1991 to more than 125 employees in 1999, when he sold the company to Swiss firm Sulzer Medica for more than $50 million. Mitroflow, now part of Sorin Group, continues to be one of the largest medical device companies in the Vancouver area.

Since June 2009, Mr. Geyer has been CEO of LightIntegra Technology Inc. LightIntegra has developed the ThromboLux technology which is used as a point of care device to determine platelet quality for blood transfusions. Mr. Geyer served previously on the board of directors for the Medical Device Development Center (MDDC) and MEDEC, the association representing medical device companies across Canada. He is an active angel investor and supporter of local technology and life sciences firms. Since 2003, Mr. Geyer has been actively participating as a member of the board of directors at Science World British Columbia, where he took on the role as the board’s chairman from 2007 to 2010. Paul has established a scholarship endowment at UBC for the support of students in the newly established Biomedical Engineering program. Paul is a Director and active supporter of BC Social Venture Partners, an organization supporting families and youth at risk through social enterprises. In 2011, he was awarded the UBC Engineering Community Service Award.

In 1998, Mr. Geyer received the Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the Richmond (B.C.) Chamber of Commerce. In 1999, he was named as one of Business in Vancouver newspaper’s “Top Forty Under 40,” an award given to honour outstanding young business people in the city of Vancouver. Paul is an active Angel investor in technology and life science companies. In 2010 Paul was awarded the British Columbia Angel Investor of the year. He is an active supporter of the local Angel investment community, donating his time to assist local companies and investors through education programs and direct one-on-one mentoring. In 2011 Paul received the BC Life Sciences Leadership Award.

Alexei Marko

Alexei Marko’s 18 years of experience in the medical device field spans product development, sales and marketing and executive management. Mr. Marko has held management positions with Neovasc’s predecessor companies since 1999 and assumed the role of chief executive officer in 2008 in conjunction with the company’s expansion and restructuring. He is a registered professional engineer, a listed inventor on issued and pending medical technology patents and has been instrumental in the development and approval of multiple medical device products. Mr. Marko completed a B.Sc. (Hons) degree at Queen’s University and a electrical engineering at the University of British Columbia, specializing in medical device development.

Dr. Jane Hsiao

Dr. Hsiao has served on the board of Opko Health, Inc. since February 2007, as Vice Chairman and Chief Technology Officer since May 2007 and as Chairman of the Board of Safestitch Medical, Inc. (formerly Cellular Technology Services Company, Inc.) since September 2007, having served as a director of that company from April 2005. Dr. Hsiao served as the Vice Chairman-Technical Affairs of IVAX Corporation from 1995 to January 2006, when Teva acquired IVAX. Dr. Hsiao served as IVAX’s Chief Technical Officer since 1996, and as Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President of IVAX Animal Health, IVAX’s veterinary products subsidiary, since 1998. From 1992 until 1995, Dr. Hsiao served as IVAX’s Chief Regulatory Officer and Assistant to the Chairman. Dr. Hsiao served as Chairman and President of DVM Pharmaceuticals from 1998 through 2006 and is also a director of Modigene, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company. Dr. Hsiao is a member of the Frost Group, LLC, a private investment firm based in Miami, Florida. Dr. Hsiao also holds 3.7% of the total limited partnership interests in the Peregrine II Group funds. Dr. Hsiao holds a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois.

Douglas Janzen

Mr. Janzen has deep experience in the cardiovascular industry having served as the past President and CEO and Director of Cardiome Pharma Corp. (TSX: COM; NASDAQ: CRME), a company that develops drugs to treat or prevent cardiovascular diseases. Mr. Janzen previously served as the company’s President and Chief Business Officer, since March 2006, and prior to that as CFO. Mr. Janzen has served as a director on a number of public and private boards of therapeutic and device companies including Sentinelle Medical, ICo Therapeutics and Bradmer Pharmaceuticals. Mr Janzen also serves as the Chairman of Life Sciences British Columbia and as a Director of Biotech Canada. Mr. Janzen also has extensive experience in corporate banking and financing within the biotechnology sector as an analyst and the Head of Research at Loewen Ondaatje McCutheon from 1997 to 2001 and then as Managing Director, Health Sciences andPartner at Sprott Securities Inc. (now Cormark) from 2001 to 2003.

Dr. William O’Neill

Dr. O’Neill was recently named as medical director of the new Center for Structural Heart Disease at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. Prior to this, Dr. O’Neill was Professor and Executive Dean for Clinical Affairs, Division of Cardiology at the Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine at the University of Miami, Director of the Division of Cardiovascular Disease at William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oaks, Michigan, and Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at the University of Michigan Hospital in Ann Arbor and Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. After earning his medical degree from Wayne State University School of Medicine, Dr. O’Neill went on to complete a cardiology fellowship at the University of Michigan Hospital. The author of more than 600 publications, Dr. O’Neill has been listed annually in The Best Doctors in America since 1993. Dr. O’Neill is a world leader in the field of interventional cardiology and in developing new techniques to diagnose and treat obstructed coronary arteries. His innovations include the mechanical rotary atherectomy technique for removing plaque from the arteries.

Steve Rubin

Mr. Rubin has served as Chairman of the Boards of Directors of Neovasc and B-Balloon since February 2008 and as a director of B-Balloon since November 2007. Since May 2007, Mr. Rubin has been the Executive Vice President, Administration, of OPKO Health, Inc., a specialty healthcare company that focuses on the commercialization and development of proprietary pharmaceuticals and instruments for the diagnosis and treatment of ophthalmologic disorders. Prior to that, August 2001 to September 2006, Mr. Rubin served as the Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of IVAX Corporation, which was acquired by Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. in January 2006. Mr. Rubin is also a member of the Frost Group, LLC, a private investment firm based in Miami, Florida, and serves on the boards of directors of Dreams, Inc., a vertically-integrated sports products company, Modigene, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company, Ideation Acquisition Corporation, a special purpose acquisition company formed for the purpose of acquiring businesses in digital media, Longfoot Communications Corp., a public shell company seeking to identify a merger or business combination candidate and Safestitch Medical, Inc., a medical device company. Mr. Rubin holds a B.A. in Economics from Tulane University and a J.D. from the University of Florida.